<u>Air India, PSPB triumph National Team</u> <u>Championship – 2014</u>

J. R. Shridharan I VIJAYAWADA, February 1, 2015



(The PSPB Women Team: Led by World No. 10 P.V. Sindhu (third from left), clinched the Chadha Cup for the 15th consecutive time)

Air India finally ended the winning streak of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) in the National Team Championship for Men, scoring a 3-2 victory in the Air Costa 70th Inter-State, Inter-zonal Team Championship here on Sunday.

Harsheel Dani, fighting a back injury, suffered a slight wobble before ejecting Grand Prix Gold Medal winner H.S. Prannoy 18-21, 21-17, 21-12. Sameer Verma, who lost the first game, bounced back to defeat B. Sai Praneeth 18-21, 21-11, 21-17.

Stunned by two back-to-back losses, Srikanth joined hands with Pranaav Jerry Chopra to quell Shlok Ramachandran and Sanyam Shukla's challenge 21-15, 21-17, and later got the better of Aditya Joshi 21-15, 21-12 to make the scoreline 2-all.

PSPB Women, led by World No. 10 P.V. Sindhu, wrested the Title for the 15th consecutive time, getting the better of Telangana, which was making its maiden entry into the final.

Sindhu scored a 21-15, 21-16 victory over Rithvika Shivani and later, partnering Ashwini Ponnappa, tamed J. Meghana and Rituparna Das 21-14, 5-21, 21-11. Doubles specialist G. Jwala did not participate in the final owing to a stiff neck.

The Results: National Team Championship:

Rahimtoola Cup (Men) - Final: Air India bt PSPB 3-2

Harsheel Dani bt H.S. Prannoy 18-21, 21-17, 21-12; Sameer Verma bt Sai Praneeth 18-21, 21-11, 21-17; Shlok Ramachandran & Sanyam Shukla lost to Pranaav Jerry Chopra & K. Srikanth 15-21, 17-21; Aditya Joshi lost to K. Srikanth 15-21, 12-21; Akshay Dewalkar & G. Gopi Raju bt K. Tarun & B. Sai Praneeth 18-21, 21-19, 21-14.

Chadha Cup (Women) - Final: PSPB bt Telangana 2-0

P.V. Sindhu bt G. Ruthvika Shivani 21-15, 21-16; Ashwini Ponnappa & Sindhu bt J. Meghana & Rituparna Das 21-14, 5-21, 21-11).
